Ryan Button embracing move forward

Ryan Button will play his third game on the wing tonight. (Photo by Christina Shapiro/Texas Stars)

Ryan Button will play his third game on the wing tonight. (Photo by Christina Shapiro/Texas Stars)

Before moving from defense to forward in a 5-0 win against the Abbotsford Heat, Ryan Button’s experience on the wing was limited to a handful of opportunities.

“I played a period at wing earlier in the year in Boise, and one game last year,” Button said. “Before that it was probably Atom, so when I was 8 or 9 years old.”

Tonight will be Button’s third straight game on the wing for Texas Stars. Due to injuries, the Stars have been depleted at forward and needed extra bodies.

“They came and talked to me and asked me if I played forward before, (they said), ‘We really like what you’re doing in the game. You bring a lot of speed and could fit up front, so we’re going to try you there for a couple games,” Button said. “In the first two games I haven’t played a whole bunch, but I’ve done exactly what they’ve asked me to do.”

Button will likely be asked to play wing for a couple more games. Brett Ritchie and Francis Wathier didn’t practice this morning, while Scott Glennie and Toby Petersen are still nursing injuries.

Right now playing forward is Button’s best chance to crack the lineup. With Cameron Gaunce back from Dallas and Derek Meech signed out of the KHL, the rest of the Stars defenseman moved down a notch on the depth chart.

“Realistically, that’s what I’m here to do – stay in the lineup,” Button said. “Whether that means forward or defense, hopefully not goalie … anyway I can get in the lineup and help the team win, that’s what I care about.”

Leave a Reply

