Scott Glennie wanted to be ready for matchup with Griffins

Scott Glennie returned to the lineup Wednesday against Iowa. (Photo by Christina Shapiro/Texas Stars)

Scott Glennie returned to the lineup Wednesday against Iowa. (Photo by Christina Shapiro/Texas Stars)

If the Texas Stars didn’t have a marquee matchup this weekend, Scott Glennie might have returned to the lineup tonight and not for Wednesday’s 4-3 win against the Iowa Wild.

But with first-place in the Western Conference on the line, Glennie wanted didn’t want his test run to come against the defending Calder Cup Champions.

“I think I wanted to get into the Iowa game because I wanted to be really prepared for this weekend,” Glennie said. “I didn’t want to come in out of the gate against Grand Rapids, I mean they’re a first-place team and I wanted my conditioning to be up … I just wanted to make sure I was good and healthy (for Grand Rapids).”

Against Iowa, Glennie recorded one shot on goal and looked good on a line with Chris Mueller and Brendan Ranford.

“It was good, I was out for a while and I was a little bit nervous,” Glennie said. “I’ve got a lot of help from a lot of people, it wasn’t that big of adjustment … I wasn’t really on the ice too much, but it was difficult getting up for that game. I was excited and I was playing with good players too.”

Glennie said the injury kept him out a little bit longer than he expected. He skated 10 days after suffering the injury against San Antonio on Dec. 18, but it took longer than he would have hoped to get comfortable.

It was the second injury Glennie had to deal with this season after damaging the MCL in his knee during the preseason. He still wears the brace on his knee, but that’s more for comfort than necessity.

“It’s really frustrating, this is what we do and this is my profession,” Glennie said. “Obviously it sucks to be hurt all the time … obviously this summer it was really frustrating after putting in all this work and then get hurt. I do think it’s made me tougher as a player and as a person.”

Nagle, gear make it after delayed flight to Austin

Pat Nagle’s travel plans from Idaho to Cedar Park took a bit of a detour yesterday with the winter weather conditions across the country.

Nagle originally planned to fly from Boise to Austin with a connecting flight in Denver. Instead, he flew to Denver was then re-routed to Dallas, spent the night in Dallas last night and flew to Austin this morning.

Luckily his gear was able to make the proper re-route too, even if it was a long travel day.

“The minute I saw (my gear) when I came down to luggage I was very happy,” Nagle said. “I never saw it last night, so I was just praying that it made it.”

Nagle will backup Josh Robinson tonight against a familiar opponent. Last season he was the backup goalie for the Syracuse Crunch in the Calder Cup Finals and watched Grand Rapids win the championship.

“I got to watch them a lot, obviously they have a really strong team,” Nagle said. “It’s kind of funny the way it works, it should be a good weekend.”

Leave a Reply

