Texas Stars lose regular season finale 4-3

CEDAR PARK — The Texas Stars didn’t have much to play for in their regular-season finale, a 4-3 loss against the Abbotsford Heat in front of a sellout crowd.

Texas (48-18-3-7, 106 points) had already clinched the Macgregor Kilpatrick trophy — given annually to the regular-season points champion — and American Hockey League President David Andrews presented seven team or individual awards to the Stars before the game.

After the positive feelings from a 10-minute pregame ceremony, Abbotsford jumped out to a 3-0 first-period lead in its last regular-season game as a franchise.

It was announced last week that the Calgary Flames would move their AHL affiliate after the playoffs, and the city of Abbotsford, in British Columbia, opted out of a 10-year agreement. It hasn’t been determined where, or if, the Heat will play next season.

“I’m sure a lot of the guys are going to miss it there,” said Stars forward Justin Dowling, who started his AHL career with Abbotsford in 2010. “It’s a great little city; it’s an unbelievable spot. Hopefully, they get a good spot wherever they go.”

Abbotsford (43-25-5-3, 94 points) locked up the fifth seed in the Western Conference for the playoffs with its victory.

Read the full story in the Austin American-Statesman here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s