Exit interviews: Henderson wants to remain a Star, but could be an Admiral

Kevin Henderson is still property of the Nashville Predators. (Photo by Christina Shapiro/Texas Stars)

Kevin Henderson is still property of the Nashville Predators. (Photo by Christina Shapiro/Texas Stars)

Kevin Henderson doesn’t know if he’s going to be a member of the Texas Stars when the Calder Cup championship banner is hoisted Oct. 11 at the Cedar Park Center.

Henderson is still under contract with the Nashville Predators for the 2014-15 season. He was assigned to the Stars in an AHL trade for Francis Wathier on March 9, but that assignment only lasted through the 2013-14 season.

Come October, it’s likely Henderson will start the season with the Milwaukee Admirals. He could come back to Texas, but that would require Nashville to willingly assign him to another team’s AHL affiliate.

“It’s obviously a really weird situation. I was able to come in here and help the team and we won. But then now I’m property of Nashville and Milwaukee,” Henderson said. “I don’t necessarily know what’s going to happen, I guess they’ll talk and hopefully maybe figure something out. I’d love to come back here.”

The move to Texas invigorated Henderson’s season. In 50 games with the Admirals he had just 14 points and was a healthy scratch at times. Once he joined the Stars he found some offensive spark late in the regular season. He was also part of a fourth-line that made Texas the deepest team in the AHL during the playoffs.

“To get the opportunity to come to a first-place team, I think we went 15-1 in my first couple times here and I knew I was on a special team,” Henderson said. “To hoist the cup it was a dream for me. It was a special feeling and I’ll never forget it.”

Henderson said he’ll also never forget the logistics surrounding changing teams. He flew back to Milwaukee this weekend where his car still resided after the trade and he still had an apartment to clean out.

After the cleaning out process in Milwaukee he’ll drive back to Toronto. Henderson said he probably won’t take too much time off and will start preparing for next season — wherever he may be.

“They’ll try and figure something out,” Henderson said. “There’s the draft and all that other stuff to process. So I’m probably lower on the list in regards for that because of my situation … It’s weird, I’m kind of lost here because I don’t know what happens. I am property of another team, but I’m currently in this Texas Stars changing room, meeting with their management and all that stuff.”

One thought on “Exit interviews: Henderson wants to remain a Star, but could be an Admiral

Leave a Reply

