Texas Stars notes: Derek Meech, Greg Rallo reach career milestones

CEDAR PARK — Texas Stars veterans Derek Meech and Greg Rallo both hit career milestones Thursday night against the San Antonio Rampage.

Meech, 30, played in his 600th career professional game while Rallo, 33, appeared in his 500th American Hockey League contest.

“It doesn’t feel like it; it feels like it flew by,” Rallo said Thursday morning before the team bused to San Antonio. “Pretty cool, though. Special for me that my career turned out the way it did, and I ended up playing as many games I have.”

It was fitting that Rallo’s 500th game came as a result of a Texas-San Antonio matchup. Rallo, a center, played for Texas from 2009-11 and then spent the next three seasons with San Antonio before rejoining the Stars this season.

Of his 500 AHL games, 59 have been Texas-San Antonio matchups.

“I’ve played in enough of them over the years,” Rallo said. “It’ll be fun for me tonight. My parents have already alluded to that, and my wife mentioned it. It’s pretty special all-around for my family.”

While Rallo’s career has been centered around Interstate 35, Meech’s has included stops in Detroit, Grand Rapids, Winnipeg, St. John’s, Belarus and now Austin.

Continue reading this story in the Austin American-Statesman.

Leave a Reply

