Texas Stars notes: Patrik Nemeth’s time in AHL growing short

After missing four months because of an arm injury, Dallas Stars defenseman Patrik Nemeth has been finding his legs during a conditioning stint with the Texas Stars.

“I feel pretty good. It’s gone a little bit better than I expected, actually,” Nemeth said Thursday after a practice. “The first period of the first game, I wasn’t really used to the pace. But then after that I got better … just continue working on my game and get as comfortable as possible.”

Statistically, the results haven’t been staggering. In three games for Texas, Nemeth doesn’t have any points and he’s minus-four, but his play has improved each game. In an overtime loss to Oklahoma City on Tuesday, the 22-year-old Swede was one of Texas’ best penalty-killers.

“You can see why he’s going to play in the National Hockey League,” said Texas coach Derek Laxdal. “He’s a positionally sound defenseman who plays hard every night. His game is starting to come along.”

Nemeth said he hasn’t felt any lingering effects from the injury. He’ll play in Texas’ games this weekend against the Rockford IceHogs, but could be headed back to the NHL before Dallas plays the New York Islanders on Tuesday.

“It’s obviously their call, but I think I’ve been feeling pretty good the last two games,” Nemeth said. “If I can play even better this weekend, I think that’s going to be it for me (in the AHL).”

Continue reading this story in the Austin American-Statesman.

Leave a Reply

