New Texas Stars captain Travis Morin plans to lead by example

Travis Morin during the Stars scrimmage on Saturday. (Photo by Christina Shapiro/Texas Stars)

Travis Morin during the Stars scrimmage on Saturday. (Photo by Christina Shapiro/Texas Stars)

CEDAR PARK — Having a “C” on his jersey isn’t going to change how Travis Morin plays hockey.

It’s also not going to impact how the Texas Stars newly-appointed captain handles himself off the ice.

He’s going to lead by example, and speak up when needed. Texas’ version of Theodore Roosevelt, speaking softly and carrying a big (hockey) stick.

“I think a lot of people know I’m not the most vocal guy,” Morin said. “I’ve always tried to lead by example. Go out there, play hard. Play the right way. And when things need to be said I’m not afraid to say something in the locker room or, you know, bring something up or try to be vocal.

“It’s just, I’m not going to be in there yelling, ‘rah-rah’ all the time,” Morin continued. “But, when things need to be said, and things have to happen, I’ll be there to relay the message.”

It was revealed that Morin would be the new captain on Friday at the Stars Party at The Domain. When he and Julius Honka modeled Texas’ new uniforms, Morin’s already had the captain’s “C” sewn on front.

Morin said he and Stars coach Derek Laxdal spoke a “couple weeks” ago about the 31-year-old center taking over as the fourth captain in team history. It was the right fit, with both longevity and leadership qualities.

It’s the first time Morin will captain a team since high school. But, he’s been an assistant for most of his career and held that role in college at Minnesota State-Mankato and with Texas the past couple seasons.

“I’ve had quite a few years where I’ve had a letter on my jersey,” Morin said. “I don’t think I’m going to change how I approach it. It’s not going to change my game a whole lot. It’s just a letter on jersey and I’m going to continue to lead by example.”

Leave a Reply

