Q&A with William Wrenn: training camp and Alaskan fishing

I caught up with defenseman William Wrenn after the Stars second practice on Tuesday afternoon. Wrenn played 19 games for the Texas Stars in 2012-13, registering 7 points.

SS: How’s it feel to be in camp?

WW: It’s really exciting. It’s what you work all summer for. I couldn’t be more excited.

SS: What are your goals for this training camp?

WW: Basically make the team and be here for the whole year — that’s my overall goal and while I’m here help the team. I worked on my speed and physicality (this summer) and I want to show that. I’m a defense-first guy and I’ll start from there, as long as the other team’s not scoring I’m happy.

SS: How do you work on physicality?

WW: Just a mental thing, take some time and every time you get a chance hit somebody. It wears on them and the more you do it the more accustomed to it your body gets used to. Every team needs a good physical presence. So the more I can do that the better I’ll be for the team.

SS: Tell me a little bit about your summer workouts.

WW: I was back home in Anchorage, Alaska. I had a good group of workout guys, some guys who played in the NHL like (Scott) Gomez and Joe Crabb, and a couple other guys. It was nice to have a group of guys to work out with that have made it to the next level. To skate with them was a huge blessing.

SS: What is Alaska like in the summer?

WW: It’s light all the time in the dead of summer. It’s basically light for 24 hours, so I enjoy that. Fishing is a big part of my summer, so the longer it stays light out the longer I can fish. I love that.

SS: There are some good lakes in Austin, you checked those out yet?

WW: I looked into and I’d like to. But I don’t know anyone who fishes down here. I guess I could buy a rod and start messing around at a random place, but I have no idea where to go.

Leave a comment